Version

Teams Collaboration and Privacy

Teams facilitates effective collaboration on dashboards between any group of Reveal users while also ensuring a high level of security for dashboards with sensitive information.

With Teams in Reveal, you can:

  • Organize your group’s work in a team’s dashboards section - create and share dashboards directly with other members, view and edit their dashboards.

  • Share your team’s dashboards with other teams and users in Reveal.

  • Assign every team member to one of three members' roles with distinct access level to safeguard dashboards with sensitive information.

  • Bring different departments and employees from across an organization working together in an automatically created Organization repository.

  • Discover other teams that include members who belong to your Organization team.

The Organization Repository

Reveal creates the Organization repository automatically when a member of your organization logs in for the first time with Office365. Members need to log in with their organization’s email to be associated with an organization and added to the Organization repository.

You will find the Organization team in the Teams tab. This team is named after your organization. You can easily recognize it by the Organization label beneath its name.

OrganizationTeam_All

The Organization repository is your first team and a central place for truth for your data. Unlike other teams, only key members in your organization, given the owner’s role, can create dashboards in the Organization repository. This limitation ensures that dashboards in the Organization team contain accurate and trustworthy data.

Team Privacy Levels

When creating a team, you can select the level of privacy you want it to have:

  • Public: any member of your main Organization team can search and join your team.

  • Private: your team won’t be found in search results. Users can only join it if they get invitations.

Members' Roles and Permissions

There are three types of team members in Reveal:

  • Owners

  • Members

  • Viewers

The process of assigning these roles in the Organization team differ from other teams. Below, you will find this process explained as well as two reference tables illustrating members' permissions in the Organization and in other teams.

Organization Repository - Assigning Members' Roles and Permissions

The first user from an organization, who signs in Reveal, is given the role of owner of the Organization repository. As other users from the same organization log in they will also be added as owners. After an owner assigns someone(s) as a viewer or a member for the first time, all new users that sign in will be added as members, not owners.

The following table shows the different permissions of members in the Org team:

PERMISSION

Owner

Member

Viewer

Can view dashboards

Yes

Yes

Yes

Can create dashboards in the Org repository

Yes

No

No

Can share dashboards outside the Org with edit permissions

Yes

No

No

Can share dashboards outside the Org with view permissions

Yes

Yes

Yes

Can manage members in the Organization repository

Yes

No

No

Can invite members to the Org

Yes

No

No

Can join public teams as a member

Yes

Yes

Yes

Can view private teams

No

No

No

Can create their own public or private team in the organization

Yes

Yes

No

Teams - Assigning Members' Roles and Permissions

When a user creates a team, they are the owner of that team and can distribute levels of permissions there. The owner invites new members to their team and assigns their roles.

The table below shows what permissions members of teams different from the Organization team have.

PERMISSION

Owner

Member

Viewer

Can view dashboards

Yes

Yes

Yes

Can create dashboards in the team

Yes

Yes

No

Can share dashboards outside the team with edit permissions

Yes

Yes

No

Can share dashboards outside the team with view permissions

Yes

Yes

Yes

Can manage team members

Yes

No

No

Can invite members to the team

Yes

No

No

Can join public teams as a member

Yes

Yes

Yes

Can view private teams

No

No

No

If you want to know more about managing teams' and Organization repository’s properties and members, please read the Managing Teams topic.